The ESU John Smith Memorial English Mace Champions are Oxford LW (Jonathan Leader Maynard and Alex Worsnip) beating teams from ULU A (Neill Harvey Smith and Diarmuid Early), Oxford SL (Kitson Symes and Shengwu Li) and Cambridge A (Jo Box and Giles Robertson).
November 24, 2008

The Victoria University of Wellington Debating Society is pleased to announce the details of the fifth annual Victoria IV, aka the NZ British Parliamentary Open Debating Championships.

September 22, 2008
Here are the remainder of the results. Apologies again if there are any gaps, once again the accoustics here can be tricky.

Grand Final Results
Winners: Oxford A

Honorary Panel's Best Speaker: Simon Quinn

Top 10 Speakers
10. Ross Maguire (UCD Law A)
9. Jonathan Leader-Maynard (KCL A)
7. Fred Cowell (ULU B)
7. Dan Bradley (Manchester A)
6. Ross Frennet (UCC Phil A)
5. Stephen Boyle (UCD L&H A)
4. Alex Worsnip (Oxford B)
3. William Jones (Oxford A)
1. James Dray (Oxford A)

June 27, 2008
Here are the results as they are have just being announced. Apologies for the gaps but the accoustics in the church aren't the best.

ESL Final
Winners : BBU A
Honorary Panel's Best Speaker : Adam Hildebrandt (HSG)

Top 10 ESL Speakers
10. Assen Kochev (Tilbury A)
9. Julien (Bonaparte A)
8. Ali (Bonaparte A)
6. ? (Bonaparte C)
6. Nico Lupea (BBU A)
5. Uri (Tel Aviv A)
4. Ina Sublica (Helsinki A)
3. Simone Van Elk (Leiden A)
2. Anne Valkering (Bonaparte C)
1. Leela Koenig (Leiden A)

June 27, 2008
Semi 1
1st Gov Oxford A
1st Opp UCD L&H A
2nd Gov UCC Phil A
2nd Opp Kings (KCL) A

Semi 2
1st Gov Oxford D
1st Opp UCD Law A
2nd Gov Oxford B
2nd Opp UCC Law A

Motion: This house would abolish income tax

Source yourgermancorrespondent
June 26, 2008
Joe Roussos and Phil Williams (Thelma and Louise) from Wits have won the 2008 Judge Edwin Cameron Invitational Tournament. This 20-team, 8-prelim round, round-robin tournament involving SA's top teams was held in Stellenbosch from 1-4 May 2008.

Other finalists:
Chris McConnachie and Phil Abrahams (Kadet en sy Slet - Rhodes)
Richard Stupart and Katherine Furman (Whippet and Spank - Wits and Rhodes)
Mathew Smorenburg and Matthew Thompson (M2 - Stellenbosch)

Finals motion: THBT chicken little was right.
May 06, 2008
SEMI-FINALS- THW legalise animated child pornography

Nations Cup:
South Africa vs Malawi - South Africa through to finals
Kenya vs Uganda - Kenya disqualified due to contravention of the rules regarding preparation; Uganda through to finals

Schools Cup:
Herzlia Independents vs Rondebosch - Herzlia Independents
St John's vs St Peter's - St John's

Schools Cup Finals - THW only change the constitution by public referendum

Proposition - Independents (Herzlia)
Opposition - St John's College
May 04, 2008
Korea University 2 won a tense final against EDiS (Ewha Division of International Studies) 4 on a 4-3 split decision.

The final between Korea University 2 (Jisoo Kang, Jaeyong Shin, and Minkyong Cho) and EdiS 4 (Hanna Ko, Yulan Kim, and Selim
Choi) were judged by Sophie Lee (Chief Adjudicator: Debate Association of Ewha), Mikyung Kim (DCA:Kyunghee Int'l Studies),
Jayhyun Lee(DCA:Kyunghee Int'l Studies), Logan(Chungang), Hyesoo Monica Jang(Debate Association of Ewha), Taekwan An(Hanyang), and Jingzhi Ye(Debate Association of Ewha).

EFL Division
April 30, 2008
The round 3 motion is

THW not allow local government to pay for the relocation of homeless people.

Source: Global debate blog.
They are running very late but day one is often the slowest.
December 29, 2007

Agenda for today

  • Breakfast
  • Registration
  • Common Briefing
  • Adjudicator Briefing & Test
  • Lunch
  • Debater Briefing
  • Pre-Council Meeting
  • Grand Opening Dinner
December 28, 2007