Princeton WUDC 1995 Summary

By Colm Flynn ( Princeton hosted once again in 1995. The overall winners, in a 6-5 decision, were the University of New South Wales (James Hooke and Jeremy Philips), who defeated Oxford (Rufus Black and Rod Clayton) in the final, and Harvard (David Panton and Ted Cruz) in the semifinal. Chitra Jenardhanan from Nanyang in Singapore became the first English as a Second Language speaker to win the Best Speaker award.

At the council meeting, two colleges bid to host in 1997 - Stellenbosch and Deree. After presentations and questions, Stellenbosch was selected as the host by a vote of 13-6-1.

Australia also proposed standardization of format to British Parliamentary after a heated discussion between Australia, New Zealand, Scotland and Singapore in favour of standardization, and the United States and Canada against, a motion was passed to delay consideration of the issue until the following year.

Princeton also had serious problems with judge numbers. Most colleges failed to send a judge and the 2 teams per debate set-up required twice as many judges as normal. In the preliminary rounds, many rooms had only one judge. As a result the N-1 rule was mooted for future championships, thus ensuring that sufficient judges would be available, but it would not be until Stellenbosch '97 that council would vote to enforce this guideline.

These worlds were held under the American style of debating which involves just 2 teams in each debate. Therefore there were only two teams in the final and there were "Double Octo-Finals"

University of New South Wales B

Oxford A

Harvard Law A
Oxford Grad A

Queensland A
Middle Temple A
Bristol A
York A

Cambridge A
Concordia A
Yale A
Fordham A
Glasgow A
Guelph A
Swarthmore (Peaslee) A

McGill A
Glasgow B
Western Ontario B
Nanyang B
Hart House A
Auckland A
Hart House B
Middle Temple B
Monash A
Oxford C
U. Tech, Sydney
Western Ontario A
West Aus. A
York B

News Tags