Debating America’s Cup Field Announced‏

On March 31 2011 sixteen excellent teams will meet up in Burlington, Vermont to compete for the America’s Cup, pictured above. Today the field was announced, with a preliminary list of judges made public. More judges are welcome to apply!

After careful consideration, here are the teams invited:
British Columbia - Adam Coombs & Michael Hsiao
Claremont - Jesse Katz Blumenthal & Joseph Chilton
Colgate/HWS - Steve West & David Hernandez
Cornell - Leah Salgado & Danny Blackman
Edinburgh - Paul Brown & Sebastian
Fordham - Peter Morrissey & Caitlin McElroy
Grove City - Alex Pepper & Daniel Hanson
Harvard - Jo Box & Cormac Early
HWS - Buzz Klinger & Dan Maguire
LaVerne/Loyola - Josh Martin & JJ Rodriguez
Loyola Marymount - Emily Ravenscroft & Mike Aguilera
Portland State University - Aaron Baker & Lindsey Bing
Scotland & Ireland - Gavin Ilsley & Stephen Boyle
St. John’s - George Fitzpatrick & Nipun Mahajan
Vermont - Sam Natale & Sarah Anders
Yale - Andrew Connery & Anna Moore

Invited Judges:
Tom Dionesotes, Vermont
Loke Wing Fatt, Singapore
Adam Goldstein, MIT
Paul Gross, Vermont
Alli Hamlin, Vermont
Steve Jones, Grove City
Ciaran Lawlor, Ireland
Isaac Loeb, Vermont
Sunish Mitra, Stanford
Sam Nelson, Cornell
Mary Nugent, Cambridge
Sharmila Parmanand, Ateneo de Manila
David Register, Vermont
Bojana Skrt, Ljubljana
Alfred Snider, Vermont
TBA, Claremont
Kelly Welch, Portland State

THUR 31 MARCH 2011
8:30 AM - Roll Call at Huber House
9 AM - Seeding round
11:30 AM - Quarterfinals
1:30 PM - Lunch
3 PM - Semifinals
5 PM - Announcement of Finals
5-6:45 PM - Dinner Break
6:45 PM - Draw positions and motion announced
7 PM - Finals with audience

From: usdebate list
News Tags